First blog post

My first blog and what do I write about? There are so many other blogs out there. Why am I starting another? I read an interesting article in The Times last week about Ian Rankin. “Rebus and the case of the tweeting novelist” was the headline. He has confessed that his writing speed is “slowing down” and attributed it partly to the demands made on authors to promote themselves on social media. “The notion of locking yourself away and writing all day has pretty much gone.” If authors are on line all the time, how can they produce their books?
With this in mind – and also because I think it is boring to constantly self-promote – I want to widen the purpose of my blog. I’ll share a little about the stunning locations in Tuscany where I write and we’ll see how we get on.
For six months of the year, I live in the Tuscan Apennines. I love this stunning countryside

and I realise it impacts on my writing. More of that another time. But here are a few photos to set the scene. And that will be enough for today.

June 13th 2017

I haven’t managed to do any writing this week on my WIP, which has nothing to do with beautiful Tuscany. I’m busy with Mavis and Dot from the British seaside.DSCN2105 But I have been interviewed by a Canadian Blogger. I “met” her on Twitter and it is exciting to think my words might spread across the sea to a country I’ve never visited. I’m sure the sun shines over there too, but I always picture Canada covered in snow and ice. What do I know?

Here is Kristina Stanley’s interview: Kristina Stanley’s interview

 

 

June 17th 2017

Snail-pace progress on my WIP. I need to strike a balance with social media. But it is definitely working. I am meeting new readers and a wonderful blogger called Jessie Cahalin popped up on my Twitter feed. I was attracted by her handbag icon and contacted her. (Leather handbags and Italy go together, you know).  This morning she published an interview we did together. Click below to see:

Interview on Books in my Handbag blog

 

 

 

 

 

About Angela Petch

Bit of a story dreamer, written two novels - a third in progress. I love my little family and in no particular order afterwards: Italian culture, food, wine, walking everywhere I can and especially in the Apennines, East Africa, tennis when I can, reading, reading and more reading. So much to discover still before I die.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to First blog post

  1. Congrats on your new site!

    Like

    • Angela Petch says:

      Thanks, Kristina! Huge learning curves going on here. Sorting out how to post hyperlinks in new tabs, getting my contact page to work…you’ve been there and are far ahead of me but thanks for your support. Keep on blogging! And many thanks again for your interview. I’ve had good response from it. I’ll review your book when I get down my tbr pile. Incidentally, how on earth do you fit in writing with all the blogging you do? Busy, organised lady, I guess. Greetings from Toscana. I cooled down in the river today.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I work full time on Feedback – our big-picture editing app that is being released this summer, then I write, then I blog. Writing is my passion, so I always find time for it. Mystery Mondays is great because authors like you write the contribution.

        Like

  2. jessiecahalin says:

    Congratulations – it’s a website! The website looks great and I have already subscribed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

